Town Hall


With just over 30% of registered voters coming out in a municipal race that lacked competition at the top, Branford Republicans maintained control of the Branford Representative Town Meeting by a 17-13 margin, but some of the final tallies may trigger a recount.

Jamie Cosgrove, who was unopposed, will serve his 4th term as the towns first selectman, and will be joined by Democrat Ray Dunbar and Republican Joe Higgins on the Board of Selectmen. All of those seats were uncontested.

Also running uncontested were tax collector Roberta Gill-Brooks and town clerk Lisa Arpin.

Kurt Schwanfelder, a longtime Republican, won as a Democrat to take the town treasurer spot from incumbent Michael Nardella.

Three Board of Education spots for 6-year terms were also uncontested, as Republicans Michael Krause and Dawn Perrotti, and Democrat Ellen Michaels take seats.

In a contested race for a 4-year term, Democrat Meredith Gaffney defeated Lisa Caruso.

The RTM looks to be 17-13, but a few races may trigger recounts. Votes that are within a margin equal to 1% of the total voters can be triggered for recounts, something that may happen in the 5th district. We will have more as the numbers are verified overnight.


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.